The Epicurean Vagabonds
Aesthetic Arrest Podcast
Aesthetic Arrest Podcast: 100th Episode Extravaganza!
21
0:00
-1:16:19

Aesthetic Arrest Podcast: 100th Episode Extravaganza!

Celebrating 100 Episodes with the Art & Artists We Can't Live Without!
21

“The aesthetic experience is a simple beholding of the object . . . you experience a radiance. You are held in aesthetic arrest.” - Joseph Campbell

Cheers to 100 Episodes!!!

We’ve spent the last two years sharing our love of art and culture with the world . . . and we are beyond grateful to all of our devoted readers, listeners, and subscribers for joining us on this adventure. And we also want to give a special shout-out to all of our paid subscribers! We couldn’t do it without you. Cheers to you!

For this very special 100th episode extravaganza, we have a theme to guide us . . . All of our recommendations on today’s podcast are inspired by a great dinner party question we encountered recently:

Who are some of the artists you cannot live without? What are some examples from the world of art and culture that regularly bring you the beauty, wisdom, inspiration and joy we all need to survive in these troubled times?

With that question in mind, we’ve both chosen five of our most cherished examples from among the many artists and artworks, books and writers, musicians and albums, directors and films and performers, foods and recipes and meals that we cannot live without.

But that’s not all! Because this is our 100th episode, we’re doing something special we’ve never done before in a single episode! We’ve chosen to share 100 - that’s right, 100 (!) - recommendations of art and artists we can’t live without. We’re still going to focus on our usual ten choices, but in today’s episode we’re also going to talk about 100 of our most beloved reading, listening, looking, viewing and tasting recommendations of all time! Cheers to that!


This Week’s Apéritif: Smirno-Secco Sweetie-Darling! (Smirnoff Vodka & Prosecco)

[Photo by Ryan Wildstar]

Ryan Wildstar’s Recommendations:

Reading: I can’t live without . . .

And my choice for today’s podcast: I cannot live without . . .


Listening: I can’t live without . . .

And my choice for today’s podcast: I cannot live without . . .

Please Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood: Nina Simone Essentials — My Playlist of Nina Simone Favorites:


Looking: I can’t live without . . .

And my choice for today’s podcast: I cannot live without . . .


Viewing: I can’t live without . . .

And my choice for today’s podcast: I cannot live without . . .


Tasting: I can’t live without . . .

And my choice for today’s podcast: I cannot live without . . .

My Ideal French Gastronomic Meal:

Amuse-Bouche: Gougères

1st Course: Escargots à la Bourguignonne

2nd Course: Confit de Canard with Gratin Dauphinois and White Aspargus with Shaved Black Truffle Butter

3rd Course: A Selection of Cheeses - Livarot, Époisses, Roquefort Papillon, Comté, Brie de Melun, Munster-Géromé, Mimolette, Saint-Marcellin, Vacherin Mont d'Or

4th Course: Profiteroles


Give a gift subscription

Refer a friend


Ryan Elston’s Recommendations:

Reading: I can’t live without . . .

And my choice for today’s podcast: I cannot live without . . .


Listening: I can’t live without . . .

And my choice for today’s podcast: I cannot live without . . .

My favorite album: Atlantis by McCoy Tyner

My Favorite Album! Read my essay about it here!

18 More of My Favorite Albums by McCoy Tyner:

Plus 9 Essential John Coltrane Albums Featuring McCoy Tyner on Piano:

It’s Always Time for Tyner (Highlights) — My Playlist of McCoy Tyner Favorites (All Original Compositions by Tyner):

It’s Always Time for Tyner — My Deep-Dive McCoy Tyner Playlist (containing one song each from every McCoy Tyner album on Spotify):


Looking: I can’t live without . . .

And my choice for today’s podcast: I cannot live without . . .


Viewing: I can’t live without . . .

And my choice for today’s podcast: I cannot live without . . .

RuPaul’s Drag Race Promo Looks [Source: Reddit]

Tasting: I can’t live without . . .

And my choice for today’s podcast: I cannot live without . . .

We discuss pasta frequently (as I cannot live without it), but here is the podcast where we coined the phrase “Basic Bitch Pasta” and here’s a photo of the beloved dish:

Basic Bitch Pasta! [Photo by Ryan Wildstar]

So that’s it for this week! And that’s it for Season 2 of the Aesthetic Arrest Podcast! After two years and 100 episodes . . . we need a vacation! So next week we are returning to one of our favorite cities in the world, our beloved Athens, Greece, for some much-needed R&R for R&R (get it?).

The Aesthetic Arrest Podcast will return in July for Season 3! In the meantime, you can still check out our Mid-Week Libations every Wednesday, as well as some upcoming new articles like Ryan Elston’s next deep-dive into The Criterion Collection and The Criterion Channel for Pride Month!

But that’s not all! We have another special announcement as well! This month we are going back into the vaults and resurrecting a whopping 20 “locked episodes” of the Aesthetic Arrest Podcast from our archives. These 20 episodes (including some of our favorites!) have long been unavailable to anyone who isn’t a paid subscriber, but since we’re taking some time off, we’ve decided to release them back into the world for everyone! So check out those episodes later this month!

And that’s it for Season 2! As always, thank you for listening and for all of your continued support over these past 100 episodes. Join us in July for Season 3!

Cheers to that!


The Epicurean Vagabonds is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support our work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Thank you for reading The Epicurean Vagabonds. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Share The Epicurean Vagabonds

Leave a comment

21 Comments
The Epicurean Vagabonds
Aesthetic Arrest Podcast
We are Ryan and Ryan, and what we propose to you here is an observational celebration of the most extraordinary people, places, books, art, music, food, wine and cultures we have had the honor to experience together over the last 22 years.